BINGELY BOOKS

SHOE DOG.jpg

SHOE DOG

Phil Knight

Simon & Schuster

In Shoe Dog, Nike's founder and board chairman Phil Knight gives an inside view on being the man behind the swoosh. He shares how the early days of his company started as a feisty startup which grew into one of the most iconic brands in the world. This CEO walks readers through mistakes that were made, his struggles and sacrifices that he took to grow his company.

His story begins after graduating business school and borrowing $50 from his father to import high-quality, low-cost running shoes from Japan. Selling them out of the trunk of his car in 1963, he grossed $8,000 in his first year versus currently having annual sales of $30 billion.

Although many know about the beginnings of Nike, Phil Knight is a shy man that has always been a bit of a mystery. In this book he explains the highs and lows, how he curated his employees to be ambassadors of his brand and to embrace the ethos of what his company stands for.

BECOMING.jpg

BECOMING

Michelle Obama

Crown Publishing Group

First Lady Michelle Obama gives a first hand account in this memoir about her life as well as embracing her role in the White House. In addition to being the First African American First Lady to serve, she has also been known as an advocate for women and girls in the US and around the world. In addition, one of her most notable platforms is her initiative focused on ensuring that families pursue healthier and active lives.

In addition to her platform, Michelle talks about engaging with the media that she embraced from appearing on Ellen, Carpool Karaoke and other outlets as well as being scrutinized in other areas within media throughout her husband’s presidency.

Ultimately, this memoir walks readers through her life, who she was prior to her marriage, being a wife and raising two girls in the limelight. We are introduced to her childhood in the South Side of Chicago and we get an inside look on the public and private aspects of her life.

MILK STREET.jpg

MILK STREET TUESDAY NIGHTS

Christopher Kimball

Little, Brown

Tuesday night recipes are reserved for easy dishes to make that can be executed after your busy day of work, post happy hour drinks etc. But Milk Street, created by Christopher Kimball (formerly of America's Test Kitchen). This book includes a number of recipes that makes Tuesday night’s meals something that you can get excited about.

Regardless of your cooking skills, readers will find an array of meals that will get them through the middle of their week. Dishes include: Peruvian ceviche or glaze potatoes with gochujang.

Read more from the Jan Issue of Athleisure Mag and see Bingely Books in mag.

S1. EP 4. | TRIBEGOALS WITH DR. V

DRV IG FL 4.jpg

Dr. V is a Clinical Psychologist and TV personality that we have enjoyed watching in a number of reality shows including LA Shrinks, The Real Housewives of NJ and in Marriage Bootcamp and Marriage Bootcamp Hip Hop where she is one of the co-hosts of the shows. We love that she always keeps it real, isn’t afraid to snap you out of it when you’re not facing reality and that she genuinely cares about who she is working with. In addition to talking about her shows, her approach to her work and her great style – we chat about her new book: Bad Advice: How to Thrive and Survive in an Age of Bullshit.Please be advised that some content in this program may be considered unsuitable for work.

BINGELY STREAMING

fyre.jpg

FYRE

Netflix

Debuts 01.18.19

It seems like at any given point, there is a festival of some sort. Groups plan on attending these music events from where they will stay, what attire they will bring, enjoying performances and of course, to capture the perfect Instagrammable moments. When the Fyre festival hit the Internet, everyone saw a number of the world's top models and influencers who rocked swimwear and enjoyed a number of activities that were on an island estate formerly owned by Pablo Escobar.

What was built as a luxury festival ended up being an epic disaster that left guests stranded and confused. Netflix's Fyre documentary shows how Billy McFarland looked to launch his musical booking app with the festival and partnered with Ja Rule. In addition, we see other vendors and team members that worked with him to bring his vision to light.

Throughout the documentary, viewers watch the mounting problems that forced the venue to change, push decision makers to consider unsavory decisions to bring water to the event and more. Billed as, "The Greatest Party That Never Happened" - you get the benefit of a bird's eye of all the details that led to this avoidable disaster.

LI.jpg

LIFE ITSELF

Amazon Prime Original

Fans of NBC's, "This is Us" are aware of Dan Fogelman, who also directs this Amazon Prime movie, Life Itself. This film focuses on a young couple (Oscar Isaac and Olivia Wilde) that begins as a college romance, to marriage and the birth of their first child. With unexpected twists along the way, this story is a multigenerational love story that spans decades as well as continents that includes NYC in the US and the Spanish countryside. Interestingly enough, everything is connected by a single event throughout various lifetimes.

TRTT Album nux.jpg

THE ROAD TO TOKYO 2020

Spotify

Athleisure Studio

Our avid readers have enjoyed reading our previous 36 issues. Over the holiday season, we launched Athleisure Studio, our multimedia podcast network for Athleisure Culture which has a number of shows within its slate. Our programming focuses on the inspirations, stories and shared moments with athletes, designers, artists, celebrities, entrepreneur changemakers creating dynamic impact.

What does it take to be an athlete that dedicates years to making a national team and to compete on a global stage for the coveted medal that defines their career. We all enjoy watching the Olympic Games whether it’s a sport, a specific athlete or just getting into the competitions. Before they hit the stadium, there are years of work, drive and focus that take place with countless training session, coaches, and qualifying competitions. Athletes come from various backgrounds and walks of life. They sacrifice their lifestyle, homes, jobs and personal life to prepare for and win these monumental moments and leave a lasting legacy.

The Olympics is a registered trademark of the International Olympic Committee.

Read more from the Jan Issue of Athleisure Mag and see Bingely Streaming in mag.